Gliffy diagrams on the Confluence attachments page

Confluence stores your Gliffy diagrams as attachments on the page where they were created. This means that users require permissions to add and delete attachments in Confluence in order to be able to work with Gliffy. For information about providing users with these permissions, see these instructions in the Atlassian help: https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DOC/Space+Permissions+Overview.

Thisalso means that all your Gliffy data is stored in the same manner as any other content in your wiki. If you have backup procedures and network security set up for Confluence, all of these configurations automatically apply to any Gliffy diagrams you create.

To view all Gliffy attachments in your Confluence page, go to > Attachments. For every Gliffy diagram, there are two attachment files:

  • GLIFFY IMAGE: An image of your diagram, saved with the .png file extension
  • GLIFFY DIAGRAM: The acctual Gliffy diagram file, saved without a file extension

Both are named the same as your Gliffy diagram. For example, the above diagram is named business process, and the two attachments are also both named business process.

These two Gliffy diagram attachments must appear on the Confluence page's attachment list in order for the diagram to appear on the Confluence page.

Important:  If you rename or remove a Gliffy attachment from the page, the page will show a broken macro error instead of the diagram. If you want to delete the diagram, go ahead and delete the broken macro. See Deleting diagrams.



For tips on troubleshooting macro errors, see Troubleshooting Gliffy for Confluence.

All Gliffy attachments are stored in the same location on your Confluence instance as any other types of attachments created in Confluence.

Actions from the attachments page

From the attachments page, you can manage these Gliffy files:

  • View lets you preview how the diagram will appear in a Confluence page.
  • Edit opens the diagram in the Gliffy editor.
  • Properties lets you rename a file and review other details (see Renaming diagrams (Confluence Cloud) or Renaming diagrams (Confluence Server)).
  • Remove deletes the file permanently. If you rename or delete a GLIFFY IMAGE, a new PNG will be automatically generated the next time you edit and save the GLIFFY DIAGRAM (see Deleting diagrams).

History of diagrams from the attachments page

To view the revision history of a diagram, click the chevron arrow to the left of the diagram name. A list of all prev

To view the revision history of a diagram, click the chevron arrow to the left of the diagram name. A list of all previously saved versions of the file appears. For GLIFFY IMAGE files, click a version number to view the PNG file. For GLIFFY DIAGRAMS files, click a version number to download the diagram as a Gliffy GON file.

Note:  To revert to a previous version of a diagram, open it in the Gliffy editor and go to File > Revision History (see Viewing the revision history).